logo de l'Institut de l'Accessibilité Numérique

6th European eAccessibility Forum
Putting eAccessibility at the core of information systems

26/03/2012, 9:00 - 18:00
Cité des sciences et de l'industrie, Paris

 
  Version française

General description

Introduction

e-Accessibility is gaining momentum, as demonstrated by the increase in governmental initiatives and commercial interest in the field. The domain of a few dedicated specialists until a few years ago, it is today a regular preoccupation in the ICT sector.

This achievement must not, however, be overstated. e-Accessibility is still considered a necessary, yet costly, add-on to the development of information systems. Features are optional and developed specifically for disabled users, with no consideration for return on investment. In sum, e-Accessibility is thought to be peripheral to the development of the Information Society.

It is increasingly apparent that by ‘externalizing’ e-accessibility in this way, the sector is significantly hindering progress. From a technical point of view, declining to take accessibility into account from the outset when designing a new device or website will necessarily result in a complex and costly retrofit. From a financial point of view, by focusing on disabled users, decision makers are neglecting to see the greater benefits of e-Accessibility for business and society as a whole. Finally, from a political perspective, society must accept that it is legally and collectively responsible for disability and that accessibility is therefore in everyone’s interest. For all these reasons, integrating e-Accessibility at the core of information systems is a technological, economical and socio-political necessity.

It is in this context that the Institute of e-Accessibility (IAN) is proud to organize the 6th European Forum on e-Accessibility on the theme: “Putting e-Accessibility at the core of information systems”.

Five key areas will be addressed:

This conference will also be an opportunity for disabled users and industry specialists to share their experiences and to promote good practices harmonization.

Programme Committee

Speakers


Pascal GUITTON has been INRIA research director since 1 October 2010. A computer science professor at Université Bordeaux 1 since 1992, he was the Inria Iparla (Bordeaux-Sud Ouest) project-team leader from 2003 and in charge of junior researchers within the research department from 2006. His PhD thesis was on the validation of communication protocols, and he is interested in computer graphics, virtual reality, and 3D interaction. He is chairman and a founding member of the French Virtual Reality Association, which brings together both academic and industrial players.


Axel LEBLOIS is the Executive director of G3ict (The Global Initiative for Inclusive ICTs), a United Nation flagship advocy initative. He is the co-Founder of W2i, the Wireless Internet Institute, and President of its parent company World Times, Inc. Prior to creating W2i, Axel Leblois spent over 20 years at the helm of information technology companies in the United States including as CEO of Computerworld Communications, CEO of IDC - International Data Corporation, President of Bull HN Worldwide Information Systems - Formerly Honeywell Information Systems and CEO of ExecuTrain.


Bruno MENARD is the CIO of Sanofi. He graduated from the Ecole Superieure de Commerce of  Lille. He has got a Masters in Finance from the University of Lille and a Graduate Diploma of Accountants. Bruno MENARD began his career with Sanofi in 1987. Having held several financial positions in France and the United States, he became General Manager in Singapore in 1994 and the Philippines in 1995. In 1998, he joined Sanofi Winthrop France as Director of Resources. In 2001, Bruno MENARD became Chief Information Officer of Sanofi-Synthelabo and in 2004, Vice President, Information Systems, Sanofi-aventis.

Bruno Menard is Vice President of the Club Informatique des Grandes Entreprises Françaises (French CIGREF), after having served as Chairman from October 2008 to October 2011.


Robert SINCLAIR is Chief Accessibility Officer at Microsoft, responsible for the company's worldwide strategy to develop software and services that make it easier for people of all ages and abilities to see, hear, and use their computers. He believes that addressing the needs of people with a wide range of abilities is the key to transforming and improving the way everyone interacts with our increasingly digital world.

"The future lies in a new generation of technology that automatically adapts to a person’s individual needs, preferences, and immediate surroundings, to create an optimal user experience", Rob Sinclair says.


Robin CHRISTOPHERSON has worked for the Royal National Institute for the Blind (RNIB) before being a founding member of AbilityNet in 1998 where he developed accessibility auditing, disabled user testing and the design of attractive websites that are both accessible and easy to use by all. Despite being blind, Robin uses technology very effectively using speech output to access computers, the internet, his iPhone and many other technologies to assist him in his work. He also advises companies on their obligations under the Equality Act and the Disability Equality Duty – including the evaluation of case specific reasonable adjustment.


Renaud CORNU-EMIEUX is director of the School of Information Systems Management (EMSI) in Grenoble (France). He is the author of several books including "Strategy and management information systems" (Dunod, 2009), and participates in the Working Group "information society" of the Institut Montaigne. Previously, he was the director of information systems at INRIA (National Institute for Research in Computer Sciences and Automatics).


Shadi ABOU-ZAHRA works with the W3C Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) as Activity Lead of the WAI International Program Office, which includes education and outreach, coordination with the WAI Technical Activity, and liaisons with standards organizations and disability groups. Shadi coordinates WAI outreach in Europe. He is the scientific coordinator of the WAI-ACT Project (IST 287725), chairs the Evaluation and Repair Tools Working Group (ERT WG), is the staff contact of the Research and Development Working Group (RDWG).


Denis BOULAY joined the Web accessibility team at BrailleNet in 1999 to promote and develop outreaches around W3C/WAI standards. He participated in several European projects in the field of e-accessibility and has developed AccessiWeb by getting involved in the development of quality labels and AccessiWeb Euracert.


Markus GYLLING is the Chief Technology Officer of the IDPF consortium (International Digital Publishing Forum) and the technical director of the DAISY Consortium. Markus has an extensive experience in developing accessibility standards for electronic books, and software tools to support the particular standard DAISY DTBook and the DAISY Pipeline. He leads the technical development of the ePub standard. He will present the potential of the new ePub 3.0 standard released in October 2011 for the realization of accessible digital books, readable by people with disabilities on devices as diverse as Braille displays or Daisy readers.


Gerald SCHMIDT is a specialist of implementing accessibility in e-production. Gerald has been working in educational publishing, first at ProQuest in Cambridge and then at the Open University in Milton Keynes. He joined Pearson Education in London in 2011. His work is about accessible, reflowable ebooks with special emphasis on ePub 3 (including the media overlays it inherits from DAISY). He addresess questions related to publications designed for  the younger readership at school and college.


Cristina MUSSINELLI works as e-publishing Consultant for the Italian Association of Publishers. She leads the LIA project (Libri Italiani Accessibili) whose objective is to create an on-line service delivering accessible mainstream e-books for the visually impaired in collaboration with all actors involved. At the end of 2012, 3,000 titles will be available. Most Italian publishers participate in this project funded by the Italian Ministry of Culture.


Susanna LAURIN is the CEO of Funka Nu AB, a swedish consultancy specializing in accessibility and usability. Funka is Scandinavias leading company in accessibility and a party of the MeAC III team, measuring the web accessibility status of EU-member states in 2012. Susanna has been working in the field of visually impaired and independent living for many years. She is currently technical expert for the EU-commission in Mandate 376, working with harmonized European requirements for accessibility in public procurement. She is active in standardization on national level in both Sweden and Norway.


Jacques LEMORDANT is a researcher in the project team WAM (INRIA-UJF-LIG) at INRIA. Since 2007 he works in the framework of the Autonomy project, which aims to improve the autonomy of the visually impaired, by facilitating their travel, inside or outside of buildings, and their access to public transport. The project brings together transportation public services, ICT companies and research organizations. It will continue for the period 2011-2014 in the framework of the European project VENTURI (immersiVe ENhancemenT of User-woRld Interactions).


Fees

NamePrice
Entreprises/Companies - Administrations180 €
BrailleNet / GTA / CFPSAA90 €
Individuel / Individual 120 €
Etudiants/students - En recherche d'emploi / Looking for a job - Accompagnant / Companion40 €

More information :

Help - Site map - Contact
Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalCSS Valide !

logo de l'Institut de l'Accessibilité Numérique

6e Forum Européen de l'Accessibilité Numérique :

Placer l’accessibilité numérique au cœur des systèmes d’information

26/03/2012, 9h-18h
Cité des sciences et de l'industrie, Paris

 
  English version

Description générale

Introduction

Les nombreuses initiatives des politiques publiques et l’engagement financier des entreprises témoignent de l’attention croissante accordée aujourd’hui à l’accessibilité numérique. Question réservée aux spécialistes il y a encore quelques années, l’accessibilité numérique est devenue une préoccupation du secteur des technologies de l’information et de la communication.

Pourtant, cette réussite doit être nuancée. L’accessibilité numérique demeure, aujourd’hui encore, trop régulièrement abordée comme un supplément, sans doute nécessaire, mais très coûteux, au développement des systèmes de l’information : effort exclusivement dédié au public handicapé, option technique facultative, investissement économique déconnecté de la notion de retour sur investissement, l’accessibilité numérique reste un problème périphérique ou externe aux questions économique, technologique et sociale des TIC.

Or, il apparait de plus en plus nettement que cette perspective externalisante est un des facteurs déterminants des difficultés rencontrées dans le développement de l’accessibilité numérique. Techniquement, tout défaut d’intégration de l’accessibilité dès les premiers moments de la production d’un appareil ou de la mise en place d’un site implique un retrofitting complexe et coûteux. Economiquement, limiter la cible de l’accessibilité numérique aux personnes handicapées empêche d’en voir les bénéfices globaux pour la société dans son ensemble. Enfin politiquement, cela revient à oublier qu’aujourd’hui la société est devenue juridiquement responsable du handicap et que, de ce point de vue, l’accessibilité n’est pas une préoccupation marginale pour quelques uns mais une urgence centrale au bénéfice de tous. Pour toutes ces raisons, mettre l’accessibilité numérique au cœur des systèmes d’information est tout à la fois une nécessité technologique, économique et sociopolitique et la concrétisation du nouveau paradigme du handicap.  

C’est dans ce contexte que l’Institut de l’accessibilité numérique organise le 6e Forum européen sur l’accessibilité sur le thème de « Mettre l’accessibilité numérique au cœur des systèmes d’informations ».

Cinq approches seront principalement considérées :

Comité de programme

 

Intervenants


Pascal GUITTON, directeur de la recherche de l'INRIA depuis 2010. Professeur d'informatique à l'université Bordeaux 1 depuis 1992, il était depuis 2003 responsable de l'équipe-projet Inria Iparla (Bordeaux-Sud Ouest) et était depuis 2006 chargé de mission Jeunes chercheurs au sein de la direction de la recherche. Titulaire d'une thèse sur la validation des protocoles de communication, il s'est intéressé à l'informatique graphique, à la réalité virtuelle et à l'interaction 3D. Il est Président et membre fondateur de l'Association Française de Réalité Virtuelle qui regroupe des acteurs académiques et industriels.


Axel LEBLOIS est le directeur exécutif du G3ict (The Global Initiative for Inclusive ICTs), une initiative des Nations Unies (UN-Gaid). Il est le co-fondateur du W2i and President de sa compagnie mère World Times, Inc. Avant de créer le W2i, Axel Leblois a passé plus de 20 ans au sommet d'entreprises de technologies : CEO de Computerworld Communications, CEO de IDC - Internationial Data Corporation et President de Bull HN Worldwide Information systems et CEO de ExecuTrain.


Bruno MENARD est le CIO de Sanofi. Il est diplômé de l’Ecole Supérieure de Commerce de Lille, titulaire d’une Maîtrise de Finance de l’Université de Lille et d’un DECS(Diplôme d’Etudes Comptables Supérieures).Bruno MENARD a commencé sa carrière chez Sanofi en 1987. Après avoir exercé plusieurs fonctions financières en France et aux Etats-Unis, il devient Directeur Général à Singapour en 1994, puis aux Philippines en 1995. En 1998, il rejoint Sanofi Winthrop France en tant que Directeur des Ressources. En 2001, Bruno MENARD devient Directeur des Systèmes d’Information de Sanofi-Synthélabo puis, en 2004, Vice Président, Systèmes d’Information de Sanofi-aventis.

Bruno MENARD est Vice Président du Club Informatique des Grandes Entreprises Françaises (CIGREF), après en avoir assuré la Présidence d’octobre 2008 à octobre 2011.


Robert SINCLAIR est directeur de l'accessibilité chez Microsoft, responsable de la stratégie mondiale de l'entreprise pour le développement de logiciels et des services permettant aux personnes de tous âges et  de toutes capacités de voir, d’entendre, et d'utiliser leurs ordinateurs. Il pense que la satisfaction des besoins des personnes ayant un large éventail de capacités est la clé pour transformer et d'améliorer la façon dont chacun interagit avec notre monde de plus en plus numérique.

«L'avenir réside dans une nouvelle génération de technologies qui s'adaptera automatiquement aux besoins des personnes, leurs préférences, et leur environnement, afin  de créer les meilleures conditions pour les utilisateurs ", dit Rob Sinclair.


Robin CHRISTOPHERSON a travaillé pour l'Institut Royal National des Aveugles (RNIB) avant d'être un membre fondateur d’AbilityNet en 1998 où il a développé les audits d'accessibilité, les tests avec des utilisateurs handicapés et la conception de sites Web attrayants qui soient à la fois accessibles et faciles à utiliser par tous. Etant aveugle, Robin utilise la synthèse  vocale pour accéder aux ordinateurs, à Internet, à son iPhone et bien d'autres technologies qui l'aident dans son travail. Il conseille également les entreprises sur leurs obligations en vertu de la loi sur l'obligation d'égalité des personnes.


Renaud CORNU-EMIEUX est directeur de l'Ecole de Management des Systèmes d'Information (EMSI). Il est l'auteur de plusieurs ouvrages dont "Stratégie et pilotage des systèmes d'information" (Dunod , 2009), et participe au groupe de travail "Informatisation de la société" de l'Institut Montaigne.  Auparavant, il a été  directeur des systèmes d'information de l'INRIA.


Shadi ABOU-ZAHRA travaille avec le groupe WAI (Web Accessibility Initiative) du W3C en tant que responsable des programmes internationaux, ce qui couvre les activités d’information et d’éducation, la coordination avec les activités techniques de WAI, les relations avec les organismes de standardisation et les associations de personnes handicapées. Shadi coordonne plusieurs activités européennes concernant  l’accessibilité du Web , dont le projet WAI-ACT (IST 287725). Il préside le groupe de travail Evaluation and Repair Tools de W3C (ERT WG). Il est la personne contact du groupe de travail Research and Development  (RDWG).


Denis BOULAY a rejoint l'équipe accessibilité du Web de l'association BrailleNet en 1999 afin de promouvoir et développer des actions d'évangélisation autour des normes d'accessibilité du W3C/WAI. Il a participé a plusieurs projets européens dans le domaine de l'accessibilité numérique et a contribué au développement d’AccessiWeb en s'impliquant dans l'élaboration des labels de qualité AccessiWeb et Euracert.


Markus GYLLING est Directeur Technique du consortium IDPF (International Digital Publishing Forum) et  du consortium DAISY. Markus a une longue  expérience dans l'élaboration de standards d’accessibilité pour les livres électroniques, les standards ouverts et les outils logiciels supportant le standard DAISY DTBook et le DAISY Pipeline. Il conduit le développement technique du standard EPUB.


Gerald SCHMIDT est spécialiste de la mise en œuvre de l'accessibilité dans les productions documentaires électroniques. Il a travaillé dans l'édition scolaire, d'abord à ProQuest, à Cambridge puis à l'Open University de Milton Keynes. Il a rejoint Pearson Education à Londres en 2011. Il travaille sur la production de livres électroniques accessibles redistribuables, en particulier avec le format ePub 3 (qui hérite des capacités de DAISY), pour des publications conçues pour les jeunes lecteurs à l'école et au collège.


Cristina MUSSINELLI est consultante spécialiste de l’édition électronique  pour l'Association Italienne des Editeurs. Elle coordonne le projet LIA (Libri Italiani Accessibili) dont l’objectif est de  créer un service de diffusion en ligne de livres accessibles pour les personnes malvoyantes, en collaboration avec tous les acteurs concernés. À la fin de l'année 2012  3.000 titres seront disponibles. La plupart des éditeurs italiens participent à ce projet, financé par le ministère italien de la Culture.


Susanna LAURIN est le PDG de Funka Nu AB, une société de conseil suédoise spécialisée dans l'accessibilité et l’utilisabilité. Funka est  leader en Scandinavie en matière d'accessibilité et participe à l’équipe  MeAC III, dont l’objectif est de mesurer l'état d'accessibilité du web des Etats membres de l’Union Européenne en 2012. Elle a longtemps travaillé dans le domaine de l’insertion sociale des  personnes aveugles ou malvoyantes. Elle est expert technique pour l’Union Européenne pour le Mandat 376 qui vise l'harmonisation européenne des exigences en matière d'accessibilité dans les marchés publics. Elle participe également à des travaux de normalisation en Suède et en Norvège.


Jacques LEMORDANT est chercheur dans l'équipe du projet WAM (UJF-INRIA-LIG) à l'INRIA. Depuis 2007 il travaille dans le cadre du projet Autonomie dont l’objectif est de faciliter les déplacements des personnes déficientes visuelles, à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur des bâtiments, et leur accès aux transports publics. Le projet réunit des organismes de transports publics, des entreprises et des organismes de recherche. Il se poursuivra pendant la période 2011-2014 dans le cadre du projet européen de la VENTURI (immersiVe ENhancemenT of User-woRld Interactions).


Tarifs

LibelléPrix
Entreprises/Companies - Administrations180 €
BrailleNet / GTA / CFPSAA90 €
Individuel / Individual 120 €
Etudiants/students - En recherche d'emploi / Looking for a job - Accompagnant / Companion40 €

Plus d'informations :

Aide - Plan du site - Contactez-nous
Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalCSS Valide !