7th European e-Accessibility Forum
Developing e-Accessibility as a Professional Skill

18 March 2013, 9:00-18:00
Cité des sciences, Paris

 
  Version française

General description

Introduction

Most digital content professionals recognise the legal and business case for developing accessible products and services. Nonetheless, campaigns exhorting e-Accessibility tend to ring hollow as the professionals concerned lack the basic training to be able to implement the associated techniques, methodologies and technologies. Accessibility is absent from the curricula of most universities, and companies rarely consider it sufficiently strategic to be the subject of employee training and development.

In the current economic climate, companies are pushed to do more with less. The business and legal consequences of non-compliance are such that a company can no longer afford to relegate e-Accessibility to the periphery. Never before has there been a more marked need for in-house skills to deploy e-Accessibility effectively. The skills of organisations’ employees in implementing accessibilty in-house, or outsourcing to trained professionals, is crucial to the future success of e-Accessibility, and central to organisations’ competitiveness, edge and growth ambitions.

The role of industry specialists and policymakers is paramount in fostering e-Accessibility as a professional skill. Governments and organisations wishing to see increased levels of e-Accessibility will need to act decisively to ensure professionals have access to quality educational resources. 

The conference was organised in en four sessions corresponding to the following items:

Speakers were from industry, including very small business and very large companies, from universities, public oganisations, associations and international organisations. All bringing their own and complementary expertise.

Speakers were also proposed to to consider a common thread: e-Accessibility relys on a knowledge of the needs of disabled people and the assistive technology that they use. How can this knowledge become a professional skill and create new job opportunities for disabled people ?

Speakers

photo of Neelie KroesAddress to participants

by Ms. Neelie KROES

Vice President of the European Commission

Responsible for the Digital Agenda for Europe

   

 

This message will be introduced by M. Ramón Sanmartín Sola, Policy and Project Officer, Digital Social Platforms, DG CONNECT, European Commission.

photo of LucAccessibility: a core skill for publishers by Luc Audrain, Head of Digitalization, Hachette Livre

Since graduating in engineering from the Conservatoire des Arts et Métiers, Luc Audrain has acquired a solid experience in publishing technology, occupying several technical positions in large French publishing houses.

Luc joined Hachette Livre 12 years ago. As an expert in the Innovation and Digital Technology department, he is responsible for following technological developments and supporting editorial teams as the industry goes digital. As a member of the International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF), Luc contributes to the evolution of the EPUB standard. He is also involved in standardization work in French and international organizations, and participates in metadata specifications, particularly for ONIX.

photo of Denis

AccessiWeb, the story of an expert community in Web accessibility by Denis Boulay, Accessiweb

Denis Boulay is head of AccessiWeb, BrailleNet's Web Accessibility service. Since 2009 he has worked to update and develop Accessiweb criteria for certifying compliance with WCAG and RGAA standards. He works with the most competent experts in the field to ensure the quality of the Accessiweb certification process. He also leads a professional community of 400 web accessibility specialists.

 


photo de Michel E-Accessibility at Groupe La Poste by Michel Delattre, Groupe La Poste

Michel Delattre, 60, graduated from Ecole Polytechnique and from  École Nationale de la Statistique et de l'Administration (ENSAE ). He began his career at Institut National de la Statistique et des Études Économiques (INSEE) at the Department of Enterprise. In 1986 he joined the Directorate General of Taxes where he was the Head of IT, human resources and budget. In 1999 he joined  Crédit Lyonnais as Head of treatments and services to customers. In 2004 he was appointed Chief information officer at Crédit Agricole Group. Since 2006 he is Chief information officer of La Poste Group and, since 2011, Director of Central Directotate of Information Systems.



photo of NicolasNecessary changes in the profession of document adaption for visually impaired students by Nicolas Eglin, Director, Regional Technical Center for the Visually Impaired (CTRDV)

Nicolas Eglin is the director of a regional resource center in the Rhone Alps area of France. He also coordinates the Care and Support regional network for the visually impaired (SARADV), a network bringing together medical and social services that accompany more than 450 visually impaired young people aged 0-20 years in the Rhône Alpes area. The CTRDV provides transcriptions and adaptations of educational documents (CAD / Raised line drawings / school books).
Nicolas graduated from Sciences Po in Paris, and specialized in communication and management related to disability policy. His ambition is to develop networking pooling tools and practices to serve people with disabilities, particularly for facilitating  access to accessible books.

photo of Shawn

Community Collaboration through W3C WAI: Working Together on Web Accessibility by Shawn Henry, W3C

Shawn Henry leads World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) education and outreach promoting web accessibility for people with disabilities, and holds a research appointment at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory. Prior to joining the W3C Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI), she consulted with various organizations to optimize user interface design for usability and accessibility. Shawn focuses her personal passion for accessibility on bringing together the needs of individuals and the goals of organizations in designing human-computer interfaces. Her recent book, Just Ask: Integrating Accessibility Throughout Design, advocates including people with disabilities in the design process.


photo of Sarah

Develop awareness and training among  publishing professionals by Sarah Hilderley, Accessibility Project Lead, EDItEUR

Sarah has worked in publishing for many years, most recently as Production Director at HarperCollins Publishers. Her work there included the creation of standard ‘prelims’ which look at social responsibility and ethical sourcing of a publisher’s third party suppliers. She is taking the lead in EDItEUR’s involvement in Enabling Technologies Framework - a project funded by WIPO. This three year global project will develop a worldwide standard of best practice for publishers helping them ensure full accessibility to their digital material for the print-disabled.


photo of NigelMind the Digital Gap – Join the Revolution by Nigel Lewis, CEO of AbilityNet

Nigel Lewis is currently CEO of AbilityNet the UK’s leading charity on accessibility. AbilityNet has over 25 years’ experience in providing advice, guidance, assessment and consultancy in accessible ICT to all those in need whether at work, in education or at home. Nigel is also Chair of the One Voice for Accessible ICT Coalition. Prior to joining AbilityNet Nigel worked for over 25 years in the IT services sector starting his career in software development, then progressing to customer support, project management, presales and sales culminating in managing various public sector business units responsible for all areas of sales, delivery and support. Through his career Nigel has gained a comprehensive knowledge of IT and the implementation of major IT systems but also the management of business.

photo of Klaus

What is important is in the curricula by Klaus Miesenberger, Linz University

Klaus Miesenberger is Deputy Head of the Integriert Studieren Institute at the University of Linz, Austria. He has a background in computer science and economics. He is responsible for R&D and teaching at the institute which also runs a service centre for students with disabilities. In 2001 he got his professorship (habilitation) in Human-Computer Interaction with a focus on HCI for People with Disabilities. His research and teaching work is related to IT based Assistive Technologies, eAccessibility and Design for All. Klaus has been involved in more than 70 national and international R&D projects in these fields. He is member of the scientific and professional societies IFIP, working group 13.3 (HCI and People with Special Needs), OCG, AAATE, ACM and FEDORA, and is involved in a number of organisations which help improve access and training for young blind and visually impaired students. He acts as the managing director of National Contact Point for EDeAN (European Design for All e-Accessibility Network) and was previously President of the Association for the Advancement of Assistive Technology in Europe (AAATE).

photo of MathieuE-learning : The Power of Communities by Mathieu Nebra, CEO,  Simple IT

Since the age of 13, Mathieu Nebra has been givings free computer classes on the Internet. In 1999, he created the website Site du Zéro which has become a reference in the world of education.  Today, Site du Zéro counts more than two million visitors each month. In 2007, Mathieu launched the company IT Simple which was named Young Innovative Company of the Year by the French Ministry of Research in 2010. Simple IT develops collaborative tools for writing courses on the Web and for multi-media publishing including print and mobile applications. Following a governmental call for proposals, Simple IT’s CLAIRE project dedicated to digital technologies for education was selected.


photo of Rob

Creating a Global Community of Accessibility Professionals by Rob Sinclair, Chief Accessibility Officer, Microsoft

 Robert Sinclair is Chief Accessibility Officer at Microsoft, responsible for the company's worldwide strategy to develop software and services that make it easier for people of all ages and abilities to see, hear, and use their computers. He believes that addressing the needs of people with a wide range of abilities is the key to transforming and improving the way everyone interacts with our increasingly digital world.


photo of Gerald

e-Accessibility as a transferable skill in production teams by Gerald Schmidt, Pearson Education

Gerald Schmidt is specialized in implementing accessibility in e-production. Gerald has worked in educational publishing for many years, first at ProQuest in Cambridge and then at the Open University in Milton Keynes before joining Pearson Education in London in 2011.

 


Registration

On-line registration is open (link "registration" on this page). The registration includes the participation to lunch served at conference location.

Programme Committee

  • ABOU-ZARA Shadi, W3C Consortium, WAI Initiative
  • ASSIMACOPOULOS André, Association pour le Bien des Aveugles, Genève (Switzerland)
  • BENHAMOU Bernard, Délégué aux Usages de l'Internet (France)
  • BURGER Dominique, Institut National de la Recherche Médicale (France)
  • BOULAY Denis, Association BrailleNet (France)
  • ENGELEN Ian, KUL (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven - Belgium)
  • KAHLISCH, Thomas, Deutsche Zentralbücherei für Blinde, Leipzig (Germany)
  • KERSCHER George, Daisy Consortium
  • KUBITSCHKE Lutz, Empirica GmbH (Germany)
  • LEBLOIS Axel, G3ICT
  • LUCENO Varju, Daisy Consortium
  • MARMOL Bruno, INRIA (France)
  • MARTINEZ USERO José Ángel, Technosite, Fondacion ONCE (Spain)
  • MAY Mike, Sendero Group (USA)
  • MIESENBERGER Klaus, University of Linz (Austria)
  • OSBORNE Pete, RNIB (United-Kingdom)
  • OUALID Magali, INHA Nationale (France)
  • SANCHEZ Jordi, Code Factory (Spain)
  • RICE Donal, Centre for Excellence in Universal Design (Ireland)
  • SEIFFERT Marc-Daniel, University of Reims (France)
  • VARGENAU Marc-Etienne, Alcatel-Lucent (France)

 

 

Fees

NamePrice
BrailleNet/GTA/CFPSAA/CFHE95 €
Individuel / Individual130 €
Etudiant/Student - En recherche d'emploi / Looking for a job - Accompagnant / Companion40 €
Entreprise / Administration / Company190 €

More information :

Help - Site map - Contact
Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalCSS Valide !

7e Forum Européen de l'Accessibilité Numérique

Faire de l'e-accessibilité une compétence professionnelle

18 Mars 2013, 9h-18h
Cité des sciences, Paris

 
  English version

Description générale

Introduction

Les professionnels du numérique reconnaissent de plus en plus l’importance de développer des contenus et services accessibles, pour des raisons juridiques aussi bien qu’économiques.

Cependant, les déclarations en faveur de l’accessibilité numérique ont encore tendance à sonner creux car les professionnels concernés n’ont que rarement les compétences pour réellement mettre en œuvre les techniques et les méthodologies appropriées.

L'accessibilité numérique est absente de la plupart des programmes d'études des universités, et les entreprises ne considèrent que rarement ces compétences comme suffisamment stratégiques pour en faire une priorité de formation et de perfectionnement de leurs employés.

Dans le climat économique actuel, les entreprises sont amenées à optimiser leurs investissements, à faire plus avec moins. Or, les conséquences de la non-conformité à l’obligation d’accessibilité, en terme juridiques et commerciaux, peuvent être telles qu'une entreprise ne puisse plus se permettre de reléguer l'e-accessibilité à la périphérie. Jamais le besoin de déployer efficacement des compétences en e-accessibilité au sein des organisations n’a été aussi marqué. Les compétences des employés en interne pour mettre en œuvre l’accessibilité, ou la sous-traitance à des professionnels qualifiés, sont cruciales autant pour le développement de l'e-accessibilité, que pour la compétitivité et la croissance des entreprises. Le rôle des experts de l'industrie et des décideurs politiques est primordial dans la reconnaissance et le développement de l'accessibilité numérique comme une compétence professionnelle. Les gouvernements et les organisations qui désirent voir progresser l'accessibilité numérique doivent agir avec détermination pour que les professionnels aient accès à des ressources pédagogiques de qualité.

La journée était organisée en quatre sessions correspondant aux thèmes suivants:

Un  fil conducteur était proposé sous forme d'une question transversale : si l'accessibilité numérique demande une connaissance des besoins des personnes handicapées et des technologies d'assistance, comment cette connaissance apportée par des personnes handicapées elles mêmes peut devenir une compétence et constituer une opportunité sur le marché du travail ?

Les intervenants venaient d'entreprises, des très petites aux très grandes, d'universités, d'établissements publics, d'associations et d'organisations internationales, apportant chacun leurs expertises complémentaires.

Intervenants

photo de Neelie KroesMessage aux participants

par Madame Neelie KROES

Vice-Présidente de la Commission Européenne

Responsable du programme "Digital Agenda for Europe"

 

Ce message Vidéo sera introduit par M. Ramón Sanmartín Sola, responsable de projet Digital Social Platforms à la Direction Générale des réseaux de communication, du contenu et des technologies (DG CONNECT) de la Commission Européenne.

photo de LucAccessibilité: une compétence de base pour les éditeurs par Luc Audrain, chef de numérisation, Hachette Livre

Depuis son diplôme d’ingénieur du Conservatoire des Arts et Métiers, Luc Audrain a acquis une solide expérience dans les technologies de l'édition numérique, occupant plusieurs postes techniques dans les grandes maisons d'édition françaises.
Luc a rejoint Hachette Livre il y a 12 ans. En tant qu'expert dans le département de l'innovation et de la technologie numérique, il est chargé de suivre l'évolution technologique et de soutenir les équipes rédactionnelles dans le passage au numérique. En tant que membre de l'International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF), Luc contribue à l'évolution de la norme EPUB. Il est également impliqué dans les travaux de normalisation dans les organisations françaises et internationales, et participe à des spécifications de métadonnées, en particulier pour ONIX.

photo de DenisAccessiWeb, l'histoire d'une communauté d'expert en accessibilité du Web  par Denis Boulay, Accessiweb, Association BrailleNet

Denis Boulay est responsable du service AccessiWeb à l'association BrailleNet. Depuis 2009; il a  en charge l'évolution des critères Accessiweb, critères permettant de certifier la conformité  aux normes WCAG et RGAA. Il s'entoure des experts les plus compétents du domaine pour garantir la qualité de ce document de référence. Il a également en chatrge  l'animation d'une communauté professionnelle de 400 membres spécialistes de l'accessibilité du Web.


photo de MichelL’accessibilité numérique au sein du Groupe La Poste par Michel Delattre, Groupe La Poste

Michel DELATTRE, 60 ans, est polytechnicien (Promotion 71) et ancien élève de l’ENSAE. Il commence sa carrière à l’INSEE au sein du département des Entreprises. En 1986 il intègre la Direction Générale des Impôts où il sera notamment Responsable de l’informatique, des ressources humaines et du budget. En 1999 il rejoint le Crédit Lyonnais en tant que Directeur des traitements et des services à la clientèle. En 2004 il est nommé Directeur des Systèmes d’information du Groupe Crédit Agricole. Depuis 2006, il est Directeur des Systèmes d’Information du Groupe La Poste et, depuis 2011, Directeur de la Direction des Systèmes d’Information Centrale.

 


photo de NicolasLes évolutions nécessaires du métier de transcripteur adaptateur au service d'élèves déficients visuels par Nicolas Eglin,  Directeur, Centre technique régional pour la déficience visuelle (CTRDV)

Nicolas Eglin dirige un centre ressources régional en Rhône Alpes. Il est par ailleurs animateur du réseau Soins et Accompagnement en Rhône Alpes pour la déficience visuelle (SARADV), un réseau rassemblant les Services médico-sociaux qui accompagnent plus de 450 jeunes déficients visuels de 0 à 20 ans en Rhône Alpes. Le CTRDV assure les transcriptions et les adaptations nécessaires à la scolarisation de ces jeunes déficients visuels (DAO / DER / Adaptations de livres scolaires).

De formation initiale en communication, diplômé de Sciences Po Paris autour de la Gestion et des Politiques du Handicap, il souhaite développer le travail en réseau la mutualisation d’outils et de pratiques au service des personnes en situation de handicap, particulièrement en faveur de l’accès aux livres adaptés.

photo de ShawnCollaboration d'une communauté au travers de W3C WAI: Travailler ensemble sur l'accessibilité du Web par Shawn Henry, W3C

Shawn Henry est responsable des activités Education and Outreach du World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) dont l'objectif est de promouvoir l'accessibilité du Web pour les personnes handicapées. Elle occupe un poste de recherche au MIT,  l'Institut de Technologie du Massachusetts , dans le laboratoire d' Informatique et  d'Intelligence Artificielle. Avant de se joindre à l'Initiative du W3C WAI (Web Accessibility Initiative), elle a exercé des fonctions de consultante pour diverses organisations afin d'optimiser la conception d'interface utilisateur pour leur ergonomie  et leur accessibilité. Shawn  œuvre avec passion  pour faire converger les besoins des individus et les objectifs des organisations dans la conception des interfaces homme-machine. Son dernier livre, "Just Ask: Integrating Accessibility Throughout Design", recommande que les personnes handicapées soient intégrées dans le processus de conception.

photo de SarahSensibiliser et former la communauté des professionnels de l'édition par Sarah Hilderley, chef de projet Accessibilité, EDItEUR

Sarah Hilderley a travaillé dans l'édition depuis de nombreuses années, et récemment comme directeur de production chez HarperCollins Publishers. Son travail a porté sur la création de pré - standards pour ce qui concerne à la responsabilité sociale et éthique des éditeurs. Elle a pris la responsabilité  des actions d'EDItEUR dans le cadre du projet  Enabling Technologies Framework -  financé par l''Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI). Ce projet  a pour objectif de mettre au point un standard mondial des bonnes pratiques pour l'accessibilité totale des productions numériques pour les lecteurs empêchés de lire.


photo de NigelPrenez garde au fossé numérique - Rejoignez la Révolution par Nigel Lewis, PDG de AbilityNet

Nigel Lewis est actuellement directeur  du principal organisme  charitable travaillant pour l'accessibilité numérique au  Royaume-Uni, AbilityNet. AbilityNet possède une expérience de plus de 25 ans d'expérience dans la prestation de conseils, l'orientation, l'évaluation, concernant les technologies d'assistance pour toutes les personnes qui en ont besoin que ce soit au travail, pour leurs études  ou à la maison. Nigel est également président de One Voice for Accessible ICT Coalition. Avant de  rejoindre AbilityNet, Nigel a travaillé pendant plus de 25 ans dans le secteur des services informatiques  où il a commencé sa carrière dans le développement logiciel, puis  progressé vers le soutien à la clientèle, la gestion de projets, l'avant-vente et les ventes. Sa carrière s'est orientée alors vers la gestion de marchés du secteur public où il était responsable de la vente, de la fourniture et du support à la clientèle. Grâce à cette expérience Nigel a acquis une connaissance approfondie de l'informatique et de la mise en œuvre de grands systèmes informatiques, mais aussi de la gestion commerciale.

photo de KlausCe qui est important, c'est dans les programmes par Klaus Miesenberger, Université de Linz

Klaus Miesenberger est directeur de l'Institut des Etudes Intégrées à l'Université de Linz, en Autriche. Il a une formation en informatique et en économie. Il est responsable de la R&D et de l'enseignement et gère  un centre  pour les étudiants handicapés. Depuis 2001, il est professeur de l'université. Il enseigne les interactions homme-machine et les interfaces pour les personnes handicapées. Son travail de recherche et d'enseignement concerne l'informatique et les technologies d'assistance, l'accessibilité numérique et la conception pour tous. Klaus a été impliqué dans plus de 70 projets de R&D nationaux et internationaux dans ces domaines. Il est membre des sociétés scientifiques et professionnelles IFIP, du groupe de travail "IHM et personnes ayant des besoins spécifiques", de la société autrichienne d'informatique, d'AAATE, d'ACM et de FEDORA, et est impliqué dans un certain nombre d'organisations qui aident à améliorer l'accès et la formation des jeunes aveugles et  malvoyants. Il dirige le Point de contact national pour EDEAN ( réseau europeéen de la conception pour tous et de  l'accessibilité numérique) et a été président de l'Association pour l'avancement des technologies d'assistance en Europe (AAATE)

photo de MathieuE-learning : la puissance des communautés par Mathieu Nebra, Directeur Général, Simple IT

Depuis l'âge de 13 ans, Mathieu Nebra donne des cours d'informatique gratuits sur internet.En 1999, il crée le Site du Zéro qui est devenu une véritable référence dans le monde en matière d'enseignement, avec aujourd'hui plus de deux millions de visiteurs tous les mois. En 2007 il lance la société Simple IT reconnue Jeune Entreprise Innovante par le Ministère de la Recherche en 2010. Simple IT travaille à l’élaboration d’outils collaboratifs de rédaction de cours sur le web et de publication multi-supports, notamment au format papier et en applications mobiles. Le projet CLAIRE a été retenu dans le cadre d’un appel à projets gouvernemental dédié aux technologies numériques pour l’éducation.


photo de RobCréation d'une communauté mondiale d'experts par Rob Sinclair, directeur général d'accessibilité, Microsoft

Robert Sinclair est responsable de la stratégie mondiale de la société Microsoft pour l'accessibilité numérique.  Sa responsabilité porte sur les développements de logiciels et les services, avec pour objectif qu'il soit plus facile pour tous d'utiliser un ordinateur, quelque soit son âge, ou ses capacités sensorielles ou motrices. Il estime que la prise en compte des besoins des personnes ayant  des capacités très diverses est la clé de la transformation et de l'amélioration de la façon dont chacun d'entre nous est impliqué dans un monde de plus en plus numérique.


photo de GeraldL'accessibilité numérique, compétence transférable dans les équipes de production par Gerald Schmidt, Pearson Education

Gerald Schmidt est un spécialiste de la mise en œuvre de l'accessibilité numériques dans la production documentaire. Gerald a travaillé dans l'édition scolaire depuis de nombreuses années, d'abord chez ProQuest à Cambridge, puis à l'Open University à Milton Keynes, avant de rejoindre Pearson Education à Londres en 2011.

Inscriptions

Les inscriptions en ligne sont ouvertes (lien "Inscription" sur cette page). L'inscription comprend la participation au repas servi sur place.

Comité de programme

  • ABOU-ZARA Shadi, W3C Consortium, WAI Initiative
  • ASSIMACOPOULOS André, Association pour le Bien des Aveugles, Genève (Suisse)
  • BENHAMOU Bernard, Délégué aux Usages de l'Internet (France)
  • BURGER Dominique, Institut National de la Recherche Médicale (France)
  • BOULAY Denis, Association BrailleNet (France)
  • ENGELEN Ian, KUL (Université Catholique de Louvain - Belgique)
  • KAHLISCH, Thomas, Deutsche Zentralbücherei für Blinde, Leipzig (Allemagne)
  • KERSCHER George, Daisy Consortium
  • KUBITSCHKE Lutz, Empirica GmbH (Allemagne)
  • LEBLOIS Axel, G3ICT
  • LUCENO Varju, Daisy Consortium
  • MARMOL Bruno, INRIA (France)
  • MARTINEZ USERO José Ángel, Technosite, Fondacion ONCE (Espagne)
  • MAY Mike, Sendero Group (USA)
  • MIESENBERGER Klaus, Université de Linz (Autriche)
  • OSBORNE Pete, RNIB (Royaume-Uni)
  • OUALID Magali, INHA (France)
  • SANCHEZ Jordi, Code Factory (Spain)
  • RICE Donal, Centre for Excellence in Universal Design (Irlande)
  • SEIFFERT Marc-Daniel, Université de Reims (France)
  • VARGENAU Marc-Etienne, Alcatel-Lucent (France)

 

 

Tarifs

LibelléPrix
BrailleNet/GTA/CFPSAA/CFHE95 €
Individuel / Individual130 €
Etudiant/Student - En recherche d'emploi / Looking for a job - Accompagnant / Companion40 €
Entreprise / Administration / Company190 €

Plus d'informations :

Aide - Plan du site - Contactez-nous
Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalCSS Valide !