logo BrailleNet

10th European e-Accessibility Forum
e-Accessibility in a connected world

30 May 2016, 9am-6pm
Cité des sciences et de l'industrie, Paris

 
  Version française

General description

Speakers

Programme committee

 

The conference at a glance
The 10th European e-Accessibility Forum was held on the 30 May 2016 at the Cité des Sciences in Paris. It was held under the high patronage of President François Hollande, and under the patronage of Axelle Lemaire, Secretary of State for Digital Affairs, and Ségolène Neuville, Secretary of State for People with disabilities.
BrailleNet was delighted to welcome around 200 participants to its 2016 forum on the topic of e-Accessibility in a connected world.
To see photos of the event, please visit the EAF2016 Photo Album (credits Romain Gresillon)

The conference at a glance

The 10th European e-Accessibility Forum was held on the 30 May 2016 at the Cité des Sciences in Paris. It was held under the high patronage of President François Hollande, and under the patronage of Axelle Lemaire, Secretary of State for Digital Affairs, and Ségolène Neuville, Secretary of State for People with disabilities.

BrailleNet was delighted to welcome around 200 participants to its 2016 forum on the topic of e-Accessibility in a connected world.

To see photos of the event, please visit the EAF2016 Photo Album (credits Romain Gresillon).

General Description

Each day our social and economic lives becomes increasingly connected as the boundaries between physical and digital spaces fall away. The scale of this expanding infrastructure, commonly known as the Internet of Things (IoT), is unprecedented and forecast to grow at an astonishing rate. Embedded in devices from streetlights to household appliances, networks of sensors will gather data which can be leveraged in real time through cloud technologies to provide specialised and contextualised services when and where they are needed. Access to an intuitive and affordable "smart" network of objects and services will reduce the need for direct human actioning and decision making and aim to overcome boundaries that presently condition our interaction with the world around us.

Still very much in its infancy, it is hoped that this web of intelligent and connected objects will make life a great deal easier for people with disabilities and the elderly. Seamlessly integrated into the home, the transport network and the workplace, sensors will have the capacity to capture very specific needs and adapt services and applications accordingly. Real-life examples of the comfort and convenience offered by smart objects are emerging, and there is a great deal of research and development underway which explores and builds on the capabilities of this new technology to bridge gaps in the digital divide.

Without the necessary cooperation and control, however, the Internet of Things may in fact introduce further barriers to users with physical, sensory, or cognitive impairments. With increased connectivity comes increased complexity, and with this exposure to new threats and vulnerabilities. Standard and interoperable communication protocols that integrate accessibility alongside technology, semantics and security and privacy requirements are paramount in order to create a robust and safe ecosystem. Accessibility professionals need to work together with ICT stakeholders, device manufactures, service providers, research institutes and universities to ensure that the needs of disabled users are integrated into the incremental development of the Internet of Things.

This 10th European e-Accessibility Forum explored such topics as:

 

Speakers

i-stay@home or enabling seniors to stay at home through the Internet of Things

Imad Abdallah, Aareon

photo of Imad Abdallah

Imad Abdallah is Aareon's project lead on the European i-stay@home project. Launched in 2012, i-stay@home aims to use new technologies to limit the impact of aging and help seniors to overcome issues around isolation, safety, and disability. European leader in digital solutions for real estate, Aareon is a project partner and has designed and implemented a digital platform to allow older people to prolong their autonomy within their own homes. This add-on provides health monitoring services at home through connected devices such as smart scales, blood pressure monitors and a watch which measures heartbeat.

 

Accessible Open Web Platform

By Shadi Abou-Zahra, W3C Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)

photo Shadi Abou-Zahra

Shadi Abou-Zahra works with the W3C Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) as Activity Lead of the WAI International Program Office, which includes groups that are responsible for education and outreach, coordination with research, general discussion on web accessibility, coordination with the WAI Technical Activity, and WAI liaisons with other organizations including standards organizations and disability groups. Shadi coordinates WAI outreach in Europe, accessibility evaluation techniques, and international standards promotion and harmonization activities. He is the scientific coordinator of the WAI-DEV Project (IST 611612), and is an editor and staff contact for the Education and Outreach Working Group (EOWG). Shadi previously also led developments of the WAI-ACT Project (IST 287725), WAI-AGE Project (IST 035015), and WAI-TIES Project (IST 038471).

 

How to build accessible smart cities without frightening people

By Ross Atkin, Ross Atkin Associates

photo Ross Atkin

Ross Atkin holds masters degrees in both Industrial Design and Mechanical Engineering from the Royal College of Art and University of Nottingham respectively. He has worked on technological development in industry at major UK manufacturers like Dyson and on academic research at the Royal College of Art. He maintains a design and development practice concentrating on the interfaces between disability, technology and the city, working for world-leading manufacturers like Stannah and Marshalls, major disability charities like Scope and municipal authorities. Ross has been working with pervasive computing since 2007 and actively developing Internet of Things products since 2011. He is currently working on a series of connected products in the smart city and assisted living spaces including Responsive Street Furniture which was nominated for the Design Museum's Designs of the Year award 2015.

How the Internet of Things has the potential to make the world accessible to everyone

Jean-Christophe Coiffier, Head of Device IOT Excellence Centers, Nokia

photo de Jean-Christophe Coiffier

Jean-Christophe Coiffier is Head of a business entity dedicated to InterOperability Testing (IOT) for mobiles, chipsets & smart devices with wireless networks for worldwide needs. At the centre of an ecosystem which is now welcoming actors from the Internet of Things (IoT), Jean-Christophe has a strong belief in the impact of smart devices on our world and their potential to help people manage their lives and in particular their health and disabilities. The connected environment will tell us more about people and their needs, but like security and privacy, these needs need to be factored in from the outset.

 

Pocket informers: Privacy problems with portable communication objects

By Mathieu Cunche, Associate Professor, INSA-Lyon

photo Mathieu Cunche

Mathieu Cunche is an Associate Professor for undergraduate programmes at INSA-Lyon. He is a member of the CITI laboratory and the INRIA Privatics project team. He holds a PhD in Computer Science from the University of Grenoble and an engineering degree from ENSIMAG. His research focuses on issues around privacy protection and security related to new information and communications technology. He is particularly interested in the implications of the use of radio technologies in mobile devices on privacy. Anonymous communication systems and issues around Internet censorship are also central interests.

IoT applications in e-Health

By Marie-Christine Jaulent, Director of Research, INSERM (French Institute of Health and Medical Research)

photo of Marie-Christine Jaulent

Marie-Christine Jaulent studied computer engineering and completed a doctorate in Artificial Intelligence in 1986. She is now Director of Research at the Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale (French Institute of Health and Medical Research). She directs the LIMICS research laboratory (UMRS 1142, Inserm, UPMC, UP13) which specialises in Medical Informatics and Knowledge Engineering for e-Health. In April 2016 the LIMICS is organising an international conference in Paris called STC 2016 : "Transforming Healthcare with the Internet of Things". Marie-Christine Jaulent has written over 100 articles in scientific journals and is involved in international standardisation work (IHTSDO). In 2012 she was appointed co-editor of the International Medical Informatics Association's Yearbook of medical informatics.

 

EU-funded research and innovation of ICT for people with disabilities: ongoing action and future opportunities

By Marco Marsella, Acting Head of the Unit Inclusion, Skills and Youth (G4), CONNECT Directorate-General, European Commission

photo Marco Marsella

Marco Marsella is Acting Head of the Unit Inclusion, Skills and Youth (G4), at CONNECT Directorate-General. The Unit contributes to policy development, innovation and research implementation in the areas of Inclusion, Learning and Better Internet for Kids (safer internet). Previously, Marco has worked in the Unit dealing with Safer Internet and eContent. He has also served as project and policy officer in the Unit "Cultural Heritage & Technology Enhanced Learning".

The Internet of Things: Technologies which enable objects to connect and communicate with one another

Nathalie Mitton, iNRIA Researcher

photo de Nathalie Mitton

Nathalie Mitton graduated in engineering in 2003 and earned her doctorate at the INSA in Lyon in 2006. She was appointed a director of studies at the University of Lille 1 in 2011. She has been an INRIA researcher since 2006 and became director of the INRIA FUN research team in 2012. Her research focuses on the mechanisms of communication and self-organising wireless technologies of the Internet of Things, in particular, sensor networks, wireless robots and RFID systems. Among other things, she is responsible for implementing the Equipex FIT platform. She is active on numerous program committees and involved in the organisation of scientific events.

 

How the Internet of Things is changing healthcare

Alexis Normand, Director of Research & Development in Healthcare, Withings

photo d'Alexis Normand

Alexis Normand is Director of Research & Development in Healthcare at Withings, leader of IoT Healthcare. A graduate of HEC Business School and the Paris Institute of Political Studies (Sciences-Po), he has a background in industry and strategy consultancy, notably assisting public healthcare policy reform for government agencies in the Gulf. He also serves on a French Think Tank.

 

Connected objects and privacy issues

By Stéphane Petitcolas, Head of R&D Laboratory, Commission nationale de l'informatique et des libertés (CNIL)

photo Stephane Petitcolas

A computer engineer by training, Stéphane Petitcolas joined the Commission nationale de l'informatique et des libertés (CNIL) in 2012. The CNIL is France's regulatory body whose mission is to ensure that data privacy law is applied to the collection, storage, and use of personal data. As head of the CNIL's Research and Development laboratory, Stéphane Petitcolas has worked with connected objects, smart metres and smartphones. He is also responsible for overseeing the technical application of data privacy law by the big Internet firms (Google, Apple and Facebook).

 

Changing the World - Strategies, Partnerships and Business Propositions for the IoT

Steve Tyler, Head of Strategy, Solutions and Planning, RNIB

photo de Steve Tyler

Steve Tyler has worked in the sight loss sector for over twenty years commencing in the role of Transcription Manager in 1992 and progressing to his current role of Head of Solutions, Strategy and Planning. Steve has been successful in leading the strategy for new services and products for blind and partially sighted people globally. Through multi disciplinary teams and external partners, he has been directly involved in the creation of many life changing technology based products and is particularly motivated by leading and working with teams to achieve their goals. Some of his key achievements have been bringing about access to mobile devices, access to TV, creating partnerships that delivered the highest quality synthetic speech in the world, and delivering specialist products for blind and partially sighted people.

Programme Committee

Fees

NamePrice
Entreprise / Administration / Company /Association220 €
BrailleNet affiliation : BNET /GTA/CFPSAA/CFHE 160 €
Etudiant/Student - En recherche d'emploi / Looking for a job - Accompagnant / Companion60 €

More information :

Help - Site map - Contact
Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalCSS Valide !

logo BrailleNet

10e Forum européen de l'accessibilité numérique
L’accessibilité numérique dans un monde connecté

30 mai 2016, 9:00-18:00
Cité des sciences et de l'industrie, Paris

 
  English version

Description générale

Intervenants

Comité de Programme

Le colloque en bref
Le 10ème Forum européen de l’accessibilité numérique a eu lieu sous le Haut Patronage de Monsieur François HOLLANDE, sous le Patronage de Madame Axelle LEMAIRE, Secrétaire d'Etat au Numérique, et de Madame Ségolène NEUVILLE, Secrétaire d'Etat chargée des Personnes handicapées. 
Le Forum a accueilli autour de 200 participants sur le thème de l'Accessibilité numérique dans un monde connecté.
Consultez l'Album Photo du colloque (en cas d'utilisation de ces photos, merci d'indiquer Crédits photo Romain Grésillon).

 

Le colloque en bref

 

Le 10ème Forum européen de l’accessibilité numérique a eu lieu le 30 mai à la Cité des sciences et de l'industrie à Paris sous le Haut Patronage de Monsieur François HOLLANDE, sous le Patronage de Madame Axelle LEMAIRE, Secrétaire d'Etat au Numérique, et de Madame Ségolène NEUVILLE, Secrétaire d'Etat chargée des Personnes handicapées. 

Le Forum a accueilli autour de 200 participants sur le thème de l'Accessibilité numérique dans un monde connecté.

Consultez l'Album Photo du colloque (en cas d'utilisation de ces photos, merci d'indiquer Crédits photo Romain Grésillon).

Description générale

La frontière entre le monde des objets physiques et celui des systèmes d’information numériques s’estompe un peu plus chaque jour de sorte que nous sommes de plus en plus souvent connectés dans notre vie quotidienne, à titre individuel et professionnel. Cet environnement constitue une infrastructure que l’on appelle aussi l’Internet des Objets dont l’étendue et l’accroissement ne cessent d’étonner. Les capteurs intégré dans les objets aussi variés que les éclairages urbains, les appareils domestiques, connectés en réseaux collectent des données dont la finalité, grâce au Cloud, est de fournir des services spécialisés et adaptés à des besoins contextualités selon le temps et le lieu de leur utilisation. L’accès à ces objets et ces services « intelligents et intuitifs » est censé simplifier l’action et la prise de décision des individus dans le monde où ils vivent et les aider à dépasser certaines limites.

On pourrait espérer que ces des objets intelligents et connectés par le moyen d’Internet facilitent la vie des personnes handicapées, des personnes âgées, dans bien des situations. Invisibles à la maison, dans les transports en commun, sur le lieu de travail, les objets équipés de capteurs peuvent doter les services de la capacité à s’adapter aux besoins particuliers de leurs usagers. Des exemples concrets du confort et de la simplicité apportés par de tels objets commencent à émerger et de nombreux projets de recherche ont été lancés pour explorer et développer les possibilités de ces technologies pour réduire l’exclusion numérique.

Il est clair cependant que faute d’une réflexion approfondie et de la coopération nécessaire entre les différents acteurs, l’Internet des Objets peut créer des obstacles supplémentaires pour les personnes ayant des limitations physiques ou sensorielles, voire intellectuelles. La connectivité accroît la complexité de notre environnement et peut nous rendre plus vulnérables. Prévenir ce risque nécessite que soit prise en compte l’accessibilité, une véritable intelligence des besoins, la sécurité et le respect de la vie privée des personnes à tous les niveaux de l’écosystème, à commencer par les standard et les protocoles d’échange entre les objets. Les professionnels de l’accessibilité doivent travailler avec les acteurs des technologies de l’information et de la communication, fabricants d’équipements, fournisseurs de services, organismes de recherché, universités, pour faire en sorte que les besoins des personnes handicapées soient pris en compte de manière précoce et continue dans le processus de développement technologique. A cette condition seulement, l’Internet des objets pourra devenir un écosystème sûr et robuste bénéfique à tous.

Le 10ème Forum européen de l’accessibilité numérique explorera les thématiques suivantes :

 

Premiers intervenants annoncés

i-stay@home ou les technologies des objets connectés pour le maintien des seniors à domicile

Imad Abdallah, Aareon

photo d'Imad Abdallah

Imad Abdallah est responsable pour Aareon du projet européen i-stay@home, lancé en 2012, dont l'objectif est de limiter l’impact du vieillissement et aider les personnes âgées à surmonter les défis liés à l’isolement, la sécurité, ou l’invalidité grâce aux nouvelles technologies. Partenaire de ce projet, Aareon, leader européen des solutions digitales appliquées à l’immobilier, a conçu et mis en place une plateforme digitale pour répondre à ces problématiques et permettre aux seniors de prolonger leur autonomie au sein de leur habitat. Ce module complémentaire offre des services pour contrôler leur santé à domicile à travers des objets connectés tels qu’une balance intelligente, un tensiomètre, une montre mesurant les pulsations cardiaques.

 

Accessible Open Web Platform

Shadi Abou-Zahra, W3C Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)

photo de Shadi Abou-Zahra

Shadi Abou-Zahra travaille avec la Web Accessibility Initiative du W3C (WAI) en tant que responsable du bureau des programmes internationaux de WAI (WAI International Program Office). Ces programmes couvrent l'éducation et la sensibilisation, la coordination avec la recherche, les discussions générales sur l'accessibilité du Web, la coordination avec l’activité technique de WAI et la liaison avec d'autres organisations, y compris les organismes de normalisation et les organismes représentatifs des personnes handicapées. Shadi coordonne la sensibilisation en Europe, les techniques d'évaluation de l'accessibilité, et la promotion des normes internationales et leur harmonisation. Il est le coordinateur scientifique du projet WAI-DEV (IST 611612), éditeur et personne-contact pour le Groupe de travail de sensibilisation (EOWG). Shadi a également dirigé les projets WAI-ACT (IST 287725), WAI-AGE (IST 035015) et WAI-TIES (IST 038471).

 

Comment bâtir des villes intelligentes et accessibles sans effrayer les gens

Ross Atkin, Ross Atkin Associates

photo de Ross Atkin

Ross Atkin est diplômé en Design industriel et en génie mécanique, respectivement du Royal College of Art et de l'Université de Nottingham. Il a travaillé sur des développements technologiques dans de grands groupes industriels au Royaume-Uni, tel Dyson, et en tant que chercheur universitaire au Royal College of Art. Sa pratique de la conception et du développement se concentre aujourd’hui sur les interfaces entre handicap, technologie et cité. Il travaille pour des leaders mondiaux tels Stannah et Marshalls, et des organismes caritatifs du secteur handicap, tels Scope, et des municipalités. Ross a utilisé le concept d’informatique pervasive depuis 2007 et développe activement l’Internet des objets depuis 2011. Il travaille actuellement sur une série de produits connectés pour la ville intelligente et des espaces de vie assistés, dont le Responsive Street Furniture nominé pour le prix “Designs of the Year 2015” par Design Museum.

Comment l'Internet des Objets pourrait rendre le monde plus accessible

Jean-Christophe Coiffier, Responsable Device IOT Excellence Center, Nokia

photo de Jean-Christophe Coiffier

Jean-Christophe Coiffier est responsable d'une entité commerciale dédiée aux tests d'interopérabilité pour les mobiles, les composants et les appareils intelligents fonctionnant sur réseaux sans fil, pour les besoins du monde entier. Au centre d'un écosystème qui accueille aussi désormais les acteurs de l'internet des objets (IdO), Jean-Christophe est convaincu que les dispositifs intelligents auront un impact sur notre monde et qu'ils pourront aider les personnes à gérer leur vie, et en particulier leur santé et leurs handicaps. L'environnement connecté en dira plus sur les gens et leurs besoins, c'est pourquoi la sécurité et la vie privée doivent être prises en compte dès l'origine.

Les mouchards de poche : problèmes de vie privée associés aux objets portables communicants

Mathieu Cunche, Maître de Conférences, INSA-Lyon

photo de Mathieu Cunche

Mathieu Cunche est Maître de Conférences à l'INSA-Lyon au département du Premier Cycle, membre du laboratoire CITI et de l'équipe-projet Inria Privatics. Il est docteur en Informatique de l'Université de Grenoble et Ingénieur diplômé de l'ENSIMAG. Ses travaux de recherche s'articulent autour des problématiques de protection de la vie privée et de sécurité liées aux nouvelles technologies de l'information et de la communication. Il s'intéresse en particulier aux implications pour la vie privée de l'utilisation des technologies radio sur les terminaux mobiles. Les systèmes de communications anonymes ainsi que le problème de la censure d'Internet font également partie de ses centres d'intérêt.

Applications des objets connectés dans le secteur de la e-santé

Marie-Christine Jaulent, Directrice du laboratoire LIMICS, INSERM

photo de Marie-Christine Jaulent

Marie-Christine Jaulent est ingénieur informaticienne de formation, a obtenu un doctorat d'université en Intelligence Artificielle en 1986 et est actuellement directrice de recherche à INSERM. Elle dirige le laboratoire LIMICS (UMRS 1142, Inserm, UPMC, UP13) qui effectue des recherches dans les domaines de l'Informatique médicale et de l'Ingénierie des connaissances pour la e-Santé. En avril 2016 le LIMICS a organisé sur le campus des Cordeliers à Paris la conférence internationale STC 2016 : "Transforming Healthcare with the Internet of Things". Marie-Christine Jaulent est auteure de plus de 100 publications scientifiques dans des journaux à politique éditoriale, et a été impliquée au niveau international dans des organismes de standardisation (IHTSDO) et devient en 2012 co-éditrice du « Yearbook of medical informatics » de l’association internationale d’informatique médicale.

 

Recherches et l'innovations des TIC pour les personnes handicapées financées par l'UE : action en cours et les opportunités futures

Marco Marsella, responsable par intérim de l'unité lnclusion, Compétences et Jeunesse (Unit Inclusion, Skills and Youth - G4), à la Direction Générale CONNECT de la Commission Européenne.

photo de Marco Marsella

Marco Marsella est responsable par intérim de l'unité lnclusion, Compétences et Jeunesse (Unit Inclusion, Skills and Youth - G4), à la Direction Générale CONNECT de la Commission Européenne. Cette unité contribue à l'élaboration de politiques, la mise en œuvre de l'innovation et de la recherche dans les secteurs de l'inclusion, de l'apprentissage et pour un meilleur Internet pour les enfants (Internet plus sûr). Auparavant, Marco a travaillé dans l'unité chargée de la sécurité de l’Internet et des contenus. Il a également servi comme chef de projet et responsable de la politique dans l'unité chargée du "Patrimoine Culturel et de l’apprentissage assisté par les technologies".

L’Internet des Objets: Ces technologies qui rendent nos objets connectés et communicants

Nathalie Mitton, Chargée de recherche INRIA

photo de Nathalie Mitton

Nathalie Mitton est titulaire d’un diplome d’ingénieur et d’un doctorat de l’INSA Lyon obtenus en 2003 et 2006 respectivement. Elle a reçu l’ Habilitation à diriger des recherches (HDR) en 2011 de l’Université Lille 1. Elle est chargée de recherche Inria depuis 2006 et responsable de l’équipe de recherche Inria FUN depuis 2012. Sa recherche porte sur les mécanismes de communication et d’auto-organisation des technologies sans fil de l’Internet des objets, en particulier, des réseaux de capteurs et de robots sans fil et des systèmes RFID. Elle est entre autre responsable du deploiement d’une plateforme de l’equipex FIT. Elle est active dans de nombreux comités de programmes et d’organisation d’événements scientifiques.

 

Les objets connectés au service de la santé des personnes

Alexis Normand, Directeur de développement santé, Withings

photo d'Alexis Normand

Alexis Normand est directeur du développement santé chez Withings, leader de la santé connectée. Diplômé d’HEC et de Sciences-Po, il a travaillé auparavant dans l’industrie et dans le conseil en stratégie, notamment au service de réformes de politiques publiques de santé pour des gouvernements du Golfe. Il est également membre du bureau d'un think tank français.

 

Objets connectés, enjeux en matière de vie privée

Stéphane Petitcolas, laboratoire de recherche et d’innovation, CNIL

photo de Stéphane Petitcolas

Issu d’une formation d’ingénieur en informatique, Stéphane Petitcolas a intégré la CNIL en 2012 et est en charge du laboratoire de recherche et d’innovation de la CNIL. C’est à ce titre qu'il a notamment travaillé sur les objets connectées, les compteurs intelligents et les smartphones. Il est aussi en charge, pour les aspects techniques, des dossiers concernant les grands acteurs de l’internet (Google, Apple, Facebook). »

 

Changer le monde - Stratégies, partenariats et propositions d'affaires pour l'Internet des Objets

Steve Tyler, Directeur de la stratégie, Solutions et Planification, RNIB (Royal National Institute of the Blind)

photo de Steve Tyler

Steve Tyler a travaillé dans le secteur du handicap visuel à RNIB depuis plus de vingt ans, tout d’abord comme responsable de transcription en 1992, pour devenir aujourd’hui responsable de la Stratégie, des solutions et de la planification. Steve a dirigé avec succès la stratégie de mise en place nouveaux services et de nouveaux produits pour les personnes aveugles et malvoyantes. Grâce à des équipes multidisciplinaires et des partenaires extérieurs, il a été directement impliqué dans la création de nombreux produits technologiques pour la vie quotidienne. Le travail avec des équipes pour atteindre un objectif le passionne. Ses actions ont eu pour résultat un meilleur accès aux appareils mobiles, à la télévision. Il a été à l'origine de partenariats qui ont produit une synthèse de parole de très haute qualité et des aides spécialisées pour les personnes aveugles et malvoyantes.

Comité de Programme

Tarifs

LibelléPrix
Entreprise / Administration / Company /Association220 €
BrailleNet affiliation : BNET /GTA/CFPSAA/CFHE 160 €
Etudiant/Student - En recherche d'emploi / Looking for a job - Accompagnant / Companion60 €

Plus d'informations :

Aide - Plan du site - Contactez-nous