logo IFLA

Satellite Conference IFLA’s WLIC 2014

eBooks for everyone!
An opportunity for more inclusive libraries

22-23 August 2014
UPMC, Paris
 
  Version française

General description

Objective

The objective of this conference is to explore the 3-dimensional impact of eBooks :

  1. on content providers: how to produce content in an accessible eBook format?
  2. on libraries: how to provide inclusive services?
  3. on readers: how to take advantage of eBooks to facilitate reading?

Presentations will raise and discuss such questions as:

Official Languages

French and English are the official languages. Simultaneous translation will be provided for all presentations.

Fast typing

Fast typing in French and English will be provided for all presentations.

Keynote Speakers

 Photo Johanna Brinton

Accessible eBooks and Audiobooks in the Library
by Johanna Brinton (OverDrive, Inc.)

Johanna Brinton is a Business development Executive at OverDrive where she works closely with publishers from Europe to make their digital content available for distribution to libraries and retailers. OverDrive is a leading multichannel digital distributor of eBooks, digital audiobooks, music and video. They supply a secure lending platform for 28,000 libraries, schools and retailers worldwide with support for all major computers and devices, including iPhone®, iPad®, Nook®, Android™ phones and tablets. Founded in 1986, OverDrive is based in Cleveland, Ohio

 

 Photo Dan Pescod

"The Miracle of Marrakech" - how the WIPO treaty can help overcome the "book famine"
by Dan Pescod (RNIB)

Dan Pescod is Campaigns Manager at the Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB) in the United Kingdom. He is also the Vice Chair of the World Blind Union's Right to Read Campaign. As such he coordinated the WBU's work to obtain the Marrakech Treaty in order to help end the "book famine" faced by blind and partially sighted people, and is now working on the campaign for the ratification of that treaty. Dan campaigns in the UK and internationally to gain greater access to information, rights and services for blind and partially sighted people. He participated in the negotiations on the UN CRPD.

 

 Photo Bernhard Heinser

Ending the "Book Famine" - The New Age of Producing, Distributing, and Consuming Accessible Information
byBernhard Heinser (Consortium DAISY)

Bernhard Heinser is a Senior Manager for the DAISY Consortium. He studied literature in Zurich, Paris and Salamanca (French and Spanish literatures, literary criticism). He also completed a PhD thesis on one of Marcel Proust’s works. From 1981 to 1985, he worked as a literary criticism assistant at the University of Zurich. From 1995 to 2008, he was responsible for Blind and Visually Impaired People at the Swiss Library in Zurich. Since then, he has worked as a Senior Manager for the DAISY Consortium. He is also the cofounder of DAISY Consortium (1996), and Access for all, the Swiss Foundation for a technology fit to people with disabilities (2000), as well as the Consortium of Swiss Libraries for Blind People (1999). As a project manager he is involved in the WIPO’s Accessible Book Coalition (former Stakeholder Platform initiative).

Gala Dinner

Salon Bertrand

A reception followed by a seated gala dinner, strictly reserved for delegates, will be held in the prestigious salons of the Hotel de Ville in Paris, on Friday 22 August from 7pm to 10:30pm. Tickets must be booked in advance and cost €50 per person.

Times

The conference will take place on 22-23 August 2014, in Paris, as Postconference Satellite to IFLA'WLIC 2014 in Lyon, France

The Opening Session will take place at 11:00 am on Friday 22 August.

The Closing will be at 16:00 on Saturday 23 August.

Steering Comitee

Organisation

This IFLA WLIC 2014 postconference is organised by IFLA Section 31 - Libraries Serving Persons with Print Disabilities (LPD) in cooperation with the BrailleNet Association and the Université Pierre et Marie Curie.

        logo UPMC                logo BrailleNet

REGISTRATION

Registration done online on this website before 15 June 2014 24:00 will benefit from a special  early bird fee (150€). After this date the standard fee 200€ will be applied.

PLEASE NOTE

Registration does not include additional expenses, such as travel and accommodation that are the responsibility of the attendees. Letters of invitation can be issued to presenters upon request.

Fees

Name before 15 June after 15 June
Speaker - Conferences only 100 € 200 €
Delegate - Conferences only 150€ 200 €
Accompanying person 50 € 50 €
Gala Dinner 22 August 50 € 50 €

More information :

Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalCSS Valide !

logo IFLA

Conférence satellite IFLA LPD - IFLA WLIC 2014

Des livres numériques accessibles !
Une chance pour des bibliothèques accessibles à tous les publics

22-23 août 2014
Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris
 
  English version

Description générale

Objectif

L'objectif de cette conférence est d'explorer l'impact du livre numérique :

  1. pour les fournisseurs de contenus : comment produire des contenus dans des formats de livres numériques accessibles ?
  2. pour les bibliothèques : comment fournir des services plus accessibles à tous ?
  3. pour les lecteurs : comment peuvent-ils tirer parti du livre numérique pour un accès facilité à la lecture ?

Les présentations soulèveront et discuteront des questions telles que :

Langues officielles

Les langues de communication sont le français et l'anglais. Une traduction simultanée est assurée pour l'ensemble des conférences.

Vélotypie

Un service de vélotypie sera assuré en français et en anglais pour l'ensemble de la conférence.

Conférenciers Invités

 Photo Johanna Brinton

Accessible eBooks and Audiobooks in the Library
Des livres numériques et audio-numériques accessible dans les bibliothèques
par Johanna Brinton (OverDrive, Inc.)

Johanna BRINTON Johanna BRINTON est responsable du développement commercial chez OverDrive. Elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec les éditeurs en Europe pour rendre leurs contenus numériques accessibles pour la diffusion aux bibliothèques et aux libraires. OverDrive est un leader de la distribution numérique multi-canal de livres électroniques, de livres audio numériques , de musique et de vidéo . OverDrive fournit une plate-forme de prêt sécurisé pour 28 000 bibliothèques, les écoles et les détaillants dans le monde entier compatibles avec la plupart des ordinateurs et périphériques, y compris iPhone ® , iPad ® , Nook ® , les téléphones Android ™ et les tablettes . Fondée en 1986 , OverDrive est basé à Cleveland , Ohio.

 

 Photo Dan Pescod

"The Miracle of Marrakech" - how the WIPO treaty can help overcome the "book famine"
"Le Miracle de Marrakech" - Comment le traité OMPI peut contribuer à vaincre la "pénurie de livres"
par Dan Pescod (RNIB)

Dan PESCOD est responsable de campagne d’opinion à RNIB (Royal National Institute of Blind People) au Royaume-Uni. Dan est vice-président de la campagne d’opinion de l’Union Mondiale des Aveugles, « Le Droit de Lire ». En tant que tel, il a coordonné le travail de l’Union Mondiale des Aveugles en faveur du Traité de Marrakech pour mettre fin à la "pénurie de livres" à laquelle sont confrontées les personnes aveugles ou malvoyantes. Il travaille actuellement à la compagne d’opinion pour la ratification du traité. Dan mène campagne au Royaume-Uni et internationalement pour un meilleur accès à l’information, aux droits et aux services pour les personnes aveugles ou malvoyantes. Il a participé aux négociations sur la Convention des Nations Unies "relative aux droits des personnes handicapées".

 

 Photo Bernhard Heinser

Ending the "Book Famine" - The New Age of Producing, Distributing, and Consuming Accessible Information
Mettre fin à "la Pénurie de Livres" - Une nouvelle ère pour la production, la distribution et les usages de contenus d'information accessibles
par Bernhard Heinser (Consortium DAISY)

Bernhard HEINSER a étudié la littérature à Zurich, Paris et Salamanque (littérature française et espagnole, critique littéraire). Il a soutenu une thèse (PhD) sur Marcel Proust et son oeuvre. De 1981 à 1985, il a travaillé en tant qu’assistant à l’Université de Zurich. De 1995 à 2008, il a dirigé la Bibliothèque Suisse pour les personnes handicapées visuelles à Zurich. Depuis lors il est un des dirigeants du Consortium DAISY, dont il a été un des cofondateurs en 1996. Il a également participé à la création de la fondation suisse «Access for all » pour une technologie adaptée aux besoins des personnes handicapées, en 2000, et au Consortium des bibliothèques suisses pour personnes aveugles, en 1999. Il est chef de projet à l’OMPI pour la Coalition pour des livres accessibles.

Dîner de Gala

Salon Bertrand

Une réception suivie d'un dîner de Gala assis, strictement réservés aux congressistes, auront lieu dans le cadre prestigieux des salons de l'Hotel de Ville de Paris, 3 rue Lobau, le vendredi 22 août, de 19h à 22h30. L'insciption préalable à ces événements est nécessaire. Une participation de 50€ par personne est demandée.

Horaires

Le colloque aura lieu les 22-23 août 2014, à Paris, comme une post-conférence de  IFLA'WLIC 2014 qui se tiendra à Lyon.

La session d'ouverture aura lieu à 11h le vendredi 22 août.

La session de clôture aura lieu à 16h le samedi 23 août.

Comité de pilotage

Organisation

Cete post-conférence d'IFLA WLIC 2014 est organisée par la section 31 d'IFLA - Libraries Serving Persons with Print Disabilities (LPD) avec l'association BrailleNet et l' Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC).

        logo UPMC                logo BrailleNet

Inscriptions

Les inscriptions effectuées en ligne sur ce site, avant le 15 juin 2014 minuit bénéficient d'un tarif réduit (150€). A compter du 1er juin 2014 le plein tarif de 200€ sera appliqué.

Merci de noter que les frais d'inscription ne couvrent pas les frais annexes de participation à la conférence, tels que transports et hébergement, qui sont de la responsabilité des participants. Des lettres d'invitation à la conférence pourront être obtenues sur demande.

Tarifs

Libellé Prix avant 15 juin Prix après 15 juin
Speaker - Conférences seulement 100 € 200 €
Participant - Conférences seulement 150€ 200 €
Personnes accompagnante 50 € 50 €
Diner de Gala du 22 août 50 € 50 €

Plus d'informations :

Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalCSS Valide !